Address:164 St Hill Street, Whanganui 4500

Phone: (06) 345-1799


About Us

Welcome to ‘Age Concern Whanganui’

Age Concern Whanganui is part of the Age Concern New Zealand network of councils throughout New Zealand. Age Concern Whanganui was established in 1978 under the name of the Whanganui Regional Council for the Ageing.
It became an incorporated society on 1 August 1980 and was renamed as Age Concern Whanganui Incorporated on 26 October 1989. On 29th August 2018, the Constitution was amended and Age Concern Whanganui Incorporated was registered with the Companies Office as of 14th September 2018.

Age Concern Whanganui is a community based not-for-profit organization dedicated to enhancing the quality of life for older people. Each council offers a variety of services and information to help meet the needs of older people, families, and communities in their area.

What We Do

Age Concern Whanganui is part of a nationwide network of councils with membership to Age Concern New Zealand that benefits from and contributes to the national network of information, training, and advocacy on issues affecting older people. Age Concern contributes to informing and influencing local and national government policy development.

Age Concern Whanganui works to enhance the well being of older people by providing a range of services, information, and support. The aim is to enable older people to remain independent for as long as possible, living in their own homes as part of their local community.

Our Mission – Working for the rights and wellbeing of older people, koroua and kuia.
Our Vision – An inclusive society, where older people, koroua and kuia are respected, valued, supported and empowered.

Management & Staff

Michelle Malcolm


Michelle Fisher


Janet Lewis

SAYGO and Volunteer Co-ordinator

Lorraine Te Pou

Social Worker

Lisa Buchanan

Wellbeing Coordinator for WDC and RDC Council Flats
Senior Driving Programmes

Heidi Raikes

Visiting Service Co-ordinator

Ross Gibbs

EARS Co-ordinator

Board Members

Josh Chandulal-Mackay


Mike Russell

Deputy Chairperson

Louise McFetridge


Liam Graham


Jim Berry


Therese Zimmerman


James Forrest


Meryl Parsons


William Pati


Louise Rose